Minny the Mini

At 10:30pm May 12th, Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice was born! I had noticed that Sugar was acting a little odd that morning because when I took her out to let her graze in the morning, she only grazed for about an hour and then wanted back in the barn. It was pretty warm out, so I couldn’t tell how much of her sweating was because of the heat, or her possibly going into labor.

So I kept an eye on her all day like I had been for over three weeks, but she just stood there and looked uncomfortable all day. No rolling, belly kicking/biting, or pacing like she’d been doing all week. Now that I think about it, that alone should have been a dead give-away, but quite frankly, I was running low on any kind of energy, and I wasn’t feeling or thinking very well because of allergies.

I watched her for quite awhile in the evening before finally going to the house for fourty-five minutes to get myself some supper.I got back out to the barn just in time to see Sugar standing up to lick that baby off.

I slept in the barn for twenty-two days, one full-blown blizzard, got up every half hour all night every night, left for forty-five minutes to eat supper when it looked she wouldn’t do anything for awhile, AND I MISSED IT!

I’m just happy that the foal was healthy, and born without problems.

But when she finally got up on her feet to nurse, I imedietly knew something was wrong, because her knees bent way too far backwards. A little bit of a bend would be considered normal and would straighten itself out in a couple days, but hers bent so much that the angle matched her elbows on her rear legs. I had read about it a little bit, so I knew without a doubt that it was lax tendons, but I was at a loss for how to treat it. We’ve had lots of calves with contracted tendons, and they always get over it just fine, but neither I, not dad had ever seen lax tendons like this. He tried to reassure me that it was simply because she was brand new, but I obsessively worry about my horses whenever I think something could be wrong.

IMG_7484.JPG

IMG_7533.JPG

So I got on the Internet and tried to decide what to do. I spent pretty much all day Friday asking for advice, and 50% of people said leave her alone, make her excerise more, and it’ll straighten out on its own. The other 50% said that she would need surgery, shots, casts, and complete stall rest!

My mom went to town Saturday to pick up some antibiotiics for a sick calf we’ve got, and she showed a picture and a video to one of the vets, and he instantly told us to bring her in to another vet in the clinic because her legs needed to be splinted ASAP. So she came home and I climbed in the backseat with Minny on my lap, and away we went.

IMG_7549

IMG_7634
That’s the only way she would relax the whole hour long drive to town

 

The vet said that it was a good thing that she was only a couple days old because it was more likely that we could completely get her legs corrected sooner, and without any long lasting damage than if we had waited to see if her legs would correct on their own. It was the same vet that we took Lady to when she broke her foot last summer, and we always use him with our cattle and saddle horses because he treats us so well. With all due respect, there are a lot of vets that try to talk you into having a lot of stuff done that your animals don’t really need, and charge you thousands more than you can afford.

Minny slept through the whole vet visit without sedation. And by slept, I mean she was completely out. We had to hold her head up to keep her nose from getting stuck to the casts as they dried.

IMG_7560

IMG_7564.JPG

What the vet ended up doing, was to do a full cast on both of her front legs, and then cut off the front half. After that it was wrapped securely with vet wrap and we were sent home.

They were supposed to stay on until Monday or Tuesday, but Minny decided to take them off in the night, so right before church I had to hurry up and re-wrap them, only for me to do it again Sunday night.

IMG_7588

IMG_7646.JPG
She still goes right to sleep every time

 

Monday I had to have my wisdom teeth pulled, which sucked, and I wasn’t able to go out and check on her until this Thursday. I wrapped them a little different on Sunday, and she actually kept them on, but when I cut them off I was disappointed to see that her legs were not really showing any improvement. The vet said it could take one to three weeks before we really saw much improvement, so all I can do for now is keep taking them off every couple days for a few hours and hope for the best.

On the bright side, if she has the right temperament I can still train her to be a therapy horse even if her legs don’t straighten out enough for harness.

Just look at that face! If I was in a hospital and a mini horse looking like her showed up, I’d definitely start smiling!

IMG_7661.JPG
I have to take her into a small camper I’m remodeling to change her casts so that she can’t hear her mom threatening to murder me

 

Leave a Reply

