It’s almost Christmas! 

I love Christmas. I’m not as over the top crazy about it anymore, but it’s still one of my favorites. 

One of my favorite things about Christmas when I was little, was the fresh tree we would get. We didn’t ever have a lot where you could go chop down your own, but they still smelled wonderful. When we moved to Nebraska, we lived in a camper for over two years until we could get a house and we only had room for a tiny fake tree. Now we have a small house and it’s our second Christmas in it and we are still using the fake tree. 


This is not the best picture but you get the idea. It has two sets of lights because my dad and I like the colored ones, and my mom likes the white ones. So when I was putting it up I just put them both on. 😄

I also loved the snow when I was little and I could do nothing but play in it all day long and ignor my schoolwork. Now when I have to wade through it and do chores, thaw out hydrants, and put loose cows back in in -30 degree windchill… not so much. 

However, there is one MAJOR benefit when it’s so cold outside that the furnace can’t keep the house as toasty warm. ALL THE SPIDERS ARE DEAD!!!! I hate hate hate spiders, ants, bees, wasps, and anything that stings or is as creepy as spiders. 

6 thoughts on “It’s almost Christmas! 

  1. Haha, I’m the same way about snow; I used to love it now I hate it, because wading through 4 foot snow drifts with a 5 gallon bucket of water, only to get to the chicken coop and discover you’ve either spilled it all or it’s frozen. Another annoying thing is that the grader who plows our road, digs his blade into our yard and scoops the dirt up. Then we have to go try to shovel the dirt back where it belongs! Today the high is -2 degrees F. Ugh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what that’s like. Only we live too far from the road for the grader to mess us up anymore. Last year the loader tractor broke down right before we got three fresh feet of snow and it kept snowing for a week. It was two weeks before we could make it down our 1 and a half mile driveway to the road

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s horrible! I would hate to be cooped up that long, I’d be like, “I miss my friends!” Not that I see my friends all the time. I live too far out in the country for that. I do get to see Natalia and twilightpaint quite often because they live only 10 miles away. The majority of my friends live 30 minutes to an hour away. And some of my best friends I get to see once a year in the play I’m in, cause we don’t hang out other than that. But we are going to change that! We are planning some parties this year, so hopefully I can see some of them. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Haha! Yeah I’m getting over that side of me. I generally don’t really like people because so many are really dramatic which I can’t stand, but God has blessed me over the last couple of years by giving me amazing friends! I’m so thankful to Him for giving me the Blicks, Hawns, Augustines, Joel Smith, Ashlyn Ryan, and Emma Hemple. I know those names don’t mean anything to you, but they deserve recognition. They are awesome people!

            Liked by 1 person

            1. There is one little girl that goes to our church, she’s nine, her name is Dorothy and she’s as Cowgirl as it gets. If you didn’t look at her while you were talking you’d think she was an adult. And there’s a boy my age who lives a few hours away whose a lot like me. I’m just not real good at socializing especially when I live an hour away from town. It’s hard to meet people anywhere near my age around here.

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

