Never keep your entire book-in-progress in just one file… EVER!

The grass is turning green, it’s time to sell some steers, and the thunderstorm season begins. For the last few weeks it has seemed like every other day you would wake up to find an inch of snow outside, but by evening it was sunny with green grass again! To tell the truth, I actually kinda like winter for two reasons, no thunderstorms and no spiders/bees/ants. Other than that summer is my favorite time of year and I’m ready to stop having to run the heaters all the time! Although I’m probably going to regret saying that in a month or two….
Anyway, I have been able to get a lot done on my book lately. On the computer it’s up to about 80 pages! I know that may not sound like a lot to you but it certainly is an accomplishment to me. Now it’s more than just the short stories I always wrote in school and it looks and feels more like a real book. My parents are taking me seriously now about wanting to be a real author and my mom gave me the book she used for her writing class in collage. She’s even counting it as my english course this year for my schoolwork. It’s kind of funny how through writing my book, I’m doing my medeival history, health, english, and government history all at once. I’ve always like reading history in school but it’s a lot more fun when you are doing it as research without having a deadline or assignment being held over your head the whole time. 
  
Recently I was talking to my dad as I was doing some minor editing on a chapter I’d just written when I mentioned how I was saving my work on a flash drive stick, and it occurred to me that I hadn’t saved it on there for several chapters. So I went and got it and copied and pasted all my work down, and after I’d clicked save as and gone back to my Google Docs, I realized that while I had my entire book highlighted, I had hit the delet button…………… At the time, I had all my chapters on a single file to make it easier to read through and edit it, so when I’d hit delete it deleted everything! I sat staring at the computer in horror for almost a full minute thinking to myself, “No, there’s no way I would be that careless! I must be looking at the wrong file. I have to be looking at the wrong file! It took me three months to write that!(most of it I wrote last month when I had more time) I can’t believe I just did that. I cannot believe I just erased my whole book…..” In my sleep deprived hungry state, I had already completely forgotten about the memory stick. It was almost midnight and it had been a long week of early mornings and late nights and I was ready for some well earned sleep. After a little while of my lamenting, I remembered the memory stick and almost did a happy dance upon discovering that it had in fact, saved. 

I then spent the next hour putting all my chapters into seperate files, and saving them every way I knew how. After that, I quit putting it off, and googled how to save a google doc onto a flash drive so that the copy/paste/delete disaster could never happen again.  Lesson learned. 

2 thoughts on “Never keep your entire book-in-progress in just one file… EVER!

Leave a Reply

